No progress ever gets erased. 

When you go up a level, some new words get assumed as already known in the upper level, so your progress level changes. 

But, if you decide to go back to your previous level, then it gets restored to where it was before. So you never lose any progress you've made in any level you've worked on.

This allows you to test yourself at higher levels, then go back down if you're not ready.